Owncloud: file synchronization: Mac OS

More manuals

ca | es | en

Installation

Get the ownCloud client at: http://owncloud.org/sync-clients. It’s recommended to use the latest version available. Go to the .dmgfile you just downloaded and double-click it. To install the ownCloud app, simply drag the ownCloud image on the left to the Applications folder.

To start the application, browse the Applications list (you can find it through Finder) and double-click it.

Mac will advise you that it is a software from the Internet. Click on ‘Open’ to run the agent.

Configuration

The ownCloud client requires some steps for its correct configuration. Configure your ownCloud server with the parameters below:

  • Server adresshttps://owncloud.rp.upf.eduSpecify https:// to secure the connection and cipher all data sent and received.
  • Username and password: your research username.
  • Select the default option to synchronize all data to the server, specify the destination folder for ownCloud's agent.

Once the client has collected all data, it will try to connect to the ownCloud server. If it succeeds, a screen like this should appear:  

Once done, ownCloud daemon will start to synchronize on the backgroud. Now we have to configure the daemon and set the folders to synchronize. 

Network management

As any other synchronization tool, ownCloud can use the network to work properly. If not specified otherwise, ownCloud will use the maximum bandwidth available to perform file synchronization as fast as possible. When working on slow connections, you may need to adjust the upload and download bandwidth to limit it. Go to "Network" tab.

Owncloud needs web ports to be open to work. If you need to configure proxy settings to use the network, you need to set them.

Versions control

OwnCloud now supports versions of files on the server. If you have more than one revision of a file you can recover it, so that we can keep a record of the different versions of the file over time. Point your browser to https://owncloud.rp.upf.edu, navigate to the file and click on "..." - "Details".

Finally, it will appear a window with "Versions" option. There, it will list all available versions, clicking on the come back icon, we will recover a old version.

 

This action will establish the file version in all synchronized devices and it won't be able to turn back.

Recovering files

By default, ownCloud will automatically synchronize all your devices configured, so any change will be automatically passed to all the devices configured with the same ownCloud account. If you add a file on any of your devices, the file will be automatically created on the servers and passed on to all the others. The same way, if you delete a file or folder on any of the devices, the file will disappear from all the connected devices.

If you delete a file by mistake you can recover it from the web interface. From a browser, connect to the server’s webpage: https://owncloud.rp.upf.edu and authenticate yourself.

Click on ‘Deleted files’ to select the list of deleted files of  your account.

Browse on the deleted file list and search for the deleted file or folder you want to recover. When selected, simply click on ‘Restore’ and the file will be sent back to all your configured devices.