Skip to main content

L'Arxiu INPUT: More info

What is the INPUT Archive?

The INPUT Archive was created in 1994, as a result of the agreement signed on 20 May 1994 between UPF and INPUT. The Archive has a collection of the programs (in VHS, Betacam and DVD format) screened at the annual conferences of INPUT, and documents associated with the organization of these conferencies, which can be searched through the library catalog. The Archive has a complete collection from 1994 onwards. The collection is not complete for previous conferences, although the Archive do try to get hold of the missing tapes. This documentary collection has been stored and available for consultating by those engaged in the study of television since 1994 at the Universitat Pompeu Fabra Library, at the Poblenou Campus Library.

There is also available a database including information about more than 3500 programs screened since 1978, first year of the INPUT conferences. This database is an online version of the information included in the printed catalogs of the annual conferences, usually known as "INPUT Bibles".

The Archive is a reference tool aimed at the TV professional community (producers, directors, writers, commissioning editors.) and the academic community (professors, researchers, students). It includes the tapes with TV programs from all over the world that INPUT selected for their innovative value, their courage in addressing difficult topics or their willingness to explore uncharted TV territory. INPUT's motto ("Television in the public interest") is reflected in these programs in that they take the viewer as a citizen, not as a consumer.

Searching through catalog programs held by the Library

By clicking on the Programs held by UPF Library, you will be sent to a page from the UPF Library catalog with a heading for each INPUT conference.

By clicking on any heading, you'll get a full list of the programs screened at that INPUT conference for which the UPF Library has a viewing copy and printed documentation related to that conference. The programs appear listed by their original title.

If you wish to search the programs by their english title or by their authors, you can do it by using the library catalog search options.


The Library has tapes for almost all programs since INPUT 1994. Unfortunately, the collection of previous editions is not complete. Anyway, if you need more information about the programs not held by the UPF Library, you can search the database of programs screened at INPUT.

Loans to members of the Board and National Coordinators of INPUT

For the purpose of organizing Mini-INPUT's and Best of Input events, or doing research using the Archive collection, members of the INPUT International Board & Assembly and National Coordinators are entitled to borrow programs stored in the Archive.

To show the most recent programs seen at INPUT, Mini-INPUT's and Best of INPUT's are held to allow greater access for all each year.

Mini-INPUT's focus on the edition in the same year, and take place after the INPUT Conference which is held each year in May. 
In contrast, Best of INPUT's may focus on the previous three years of INPUT pre-ceding the event. Some INPUT conditions apply when organising either of these events.

Conditions

MiniINPUT requests should be made to the Biblioteca/CRAI del Poblenou. All applications bearing the authorization of the INPUT Archive coordinator at Universitat Pompeu Fabra will be accepted, under these conditions:

  •  Loan term: 30 days maximum
  •  Number of simultaneously borrowed: 20 documents maximum
  •  Format: the programmes will be sent in DVD format (or in VHS videotape if they're prior to 2004)
  •  It will not be possible for us to attend to requests for on loan programs, until they have been given back to the Library
  •  Costs: applicants must take charge of all the shipment expenses

For further information: Biblioteca/CRAI del Poblenou

 

What is MINIPUT

Starting from annual editions of INPUT, some smaller events known as Mini-INPUT o the Best of INPUT take place at different cities of the world.

In Barcelona these event is called MINIPUT, and it's held in November every year since 1994. Each MINIPUT edition consists of four sessions with discussion, during which some programs selected from the annual INPUT conference are screened, gathered according to related issues of the corresponding INPUT annual edition.

MINIPUT is held jointly by UPFTVCTVE, UAB, URV, UOC, URL , and La Xarxa.

During all these years this event has become essential to all those television professionals and academic researchers who think about the most innovative ways produced by the public televisions of the world.

Editions list of MINIPUT held and available at the Rambla Library of the Universitat Pompeu Fabra

Destaquem

Arxiu INPUT

Llicència de Creative Commons

Aquesta obra està subjecta a una llicència de Reconeixement-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional de Creative Commons